Header

Search

Login

The Godfather of Taste from Geneva

The Chevrier name is synonymous with the highest level of indulgence in Geneva. The successful chef and restaurateur’s philosophy: fresh food from the region prepared with passion.

american-express-philippe-chevrier-1

Philippe Chevrier is an extremely ambitious and hard-working person who knew exactly what he wanted to become at the tender age of seven: a chef. But Chevrier was not satisfied with that. On his sixtieth birthday, the two-time Michelin-starred chef, who holds an incredible 115 GaultMillau points with his total of seven restaurants (more than any other chef in Switzerland), was named the Godfather of Taste by the venerable “Foundation for  the Promotion of Taste”. His mission: to act as an ambassador to promote the culinary diversity of the Geneva region outside the canton.

In search of that certain something

Geneva is his home, Chevrier is at home here. “The people of Geneva” have fascinated the go-getting restaurateur since he was a child, so he explores the appetites, idiosyncrasies and preferences of his fellow citizens around Lake Geneva on a daily basis – a bit like an ethnographer. Constantly on the lookout for a new insight, product or idea that he can implement with relish in one of his restaurants. Carouge’s weekly market is a fixture on Chevrier’s travels through the region. Just a few minutes from the city center and located on the other side of the Arve river, producers from all over the region set up their stalls here twice a week.

Carouge market

Even the “BLICK” tabloid, not necessarily known for its cultural and culinary expertise, quite rightly recommends a trip to the market in Carouge to visitors to Geneva. The Carouge market experience is touted here with the exclamation “Simply regal!”, anticipating what visitors will encounter in person on site: There is something wonderfully lush about both the diverse range of fresh vegetables, fruits, cheeses, fish, meats, flowers and handicrafts that the market offers, and the ambiance of the old town. After all, it was the former King of Sardinia and Duke of Savoy who had the village built as a residence in the 18th century. With its cozy alleys, lovingly renovated half-timbered houses and well-tended courtyard gardens, Carouge also invites visitors to while away the time away from the hustle and bustle of the market.

Soil, climate, tradition

When talking to Carouge market vendors, Chevrier repeatedly mentions the region’s special “terroir”. The term originates from the wine world and describes the characteristic flavors of a region’s natural environment. Whether it’s wine, tomato or cheese – the specific climate, soil conditions, but also the traditional craftsmanship shape the taste of a product. For Chevrier, the Geneva region’s terroir is the basis of his signature as a chef. He wants to showcase the flavors of the growing regions located here, so he sources almost all of the food for his restaurants directly from local winegrowers, fisheries, cattle breeders and farmers. According to him, the excellent taste with which he has gained his fame is mainly due to the honest work of his “collaborators” in the rural areas around Geneva. They are the ones who really accomplish great things – 365 days a year.

The Godfather of Taste from Geneva

american-express-philippe-chevrier-4

Philippe Chevrier

On his sixtieth birthday, the two-time Michelin-starred chef, who holds an incredible 115 GaultMillau points with his total of seven restaurants, was named the Godfather of Taste by the venerable “Foundation for  the Promotion of Taste”.

american-express-philippe-chevrier-5

In search of that certain something

Geneva is his home, Chevrier is at home here. “The people of Geneva” have fascinated the go-getting restaurateur since he was a child, so he explores the appetites, idiosyncrasies and preferences of his fellow citizens around Lake Geneva on a daily basis.

american-express-philippe-chevrier-2

Soil, climate, tradition

According to him, the excellent taste with which he has gained his fame is mainly due to the honest work of his “collaborators” in the rural areas around Geneva. They are the ones who really accomplish great things – 365 days a year.

Weitere Stories

Snow and ice sculptures

Oversized cats, a giant dragon or a truck as tall as a house – Marcio Morais creates fascinating sculptures out of snow in tranquil Evolène.

Passionate craftsman with vision

Chef David Heimer and his team at Zurich’s “Josef” restaurant bring Nordic cuisine to District 4.

Header

Suche

Login

Der Genusspate von Genf

Der Name Chevrier steht in Genf für höchsten Genuss. Die Philosophie des erfolgreichen Kochs und Gastronomen: frische Lebensmittel aus der Region mit Leidenschaft zubereitet.

american-express-philippe-chevrier-1

Philippe Chevrier ist ein äusserst ehrgeiziger und fleissiger Mensch, der bereits im zarten Alter von sieben Jahren genau wusste, was er werden wollte: Koch. Doch damit gab sich Chevrier nicht zufrieden. Zu seinem sechzigsten Geburtstag ist der zweifache Sternekoch, der mit seinen insgesamt sieben Restaurants unglaubliche 115 GaultMillau-Punkte hält (mehr als jeder andere Koch in der Schweiz), von der ehrwürdigen «Fondation pour la Promotion du Goût» zum Genusspaten ernannt worden. Seine Mission: als Botschafter die kulinarische Vielfältigkeit der Region Genf auch ausserhalb des Kantons bekannt zu machen.

Auf der Suche nach dem gewissen «Esswas»

Genf ist seine Heimat, hier ist Chevrier zu Hause. «Die Genferinnen und Genfer» faszinieren den umtriebigen Gastronomen seit Kindertagen und so erforscht er die Gelüste, Eigenheiten und Vorlieben seiner Mitmenschen rund um den Lac Léman tagtäglich – fast wie ein Ethnograf – immer wieder aufs Neue. Stets auf der Suche nach einer neuen Erkenntnis, einem neuen Produkt oder einer neuen Idee, die er in einem seiner Restaurants genussvoll umsetzen kann. Der Wochenmarkt von Carouge ist ein Fixpunkt auf Chevriers Reisen durch die Region. Nur wenige Minuten vom Stadtzentrum entfernt und auf der anderen Seite der Arve gelegen, bauen hier zweimal wöchentlich Produzentinnen und Produzenten aus der ganzen Region ihre Stände auf.

Der Markt von Carouge

Selbst der «BLICK», an sich nicht unbedingt bekannt für seine kulturelle und kulinarische Expertise, empfiehlt Genf-Besucherinnen und -Besuchern – völlig zu Recht– einen Abstecher auf den Markt nach Carouge. Mit dem Ausruf «Einfach königlich!» wird hier das Markterlebnis von Carouge angepriesen und vorweggenommen, was Besucherinnen und Besucher vor Ort persönlich erleben: Sowohl das vielfältige Marktangebot an frischem Gemüse, Früchten, Käse, Fisch, Fleisch, Blumen und Kunsthandwerk als auch das Ambiente der Altstadt haben etwas wunderbar Üppiges an sich. Immerhin war es der damalige König von Sardinien und Herzog von Savoyen, der das Örtchen im 18. Jahrhundert als Wohnsitz aufbauen lies. Mit seinen gemütlichen Gassen, liebevoll renovierten Fachwerkhäusern und gepflegten Hofgärten lädt Carouge aber auch abseits des Markttreibens zum Verweilen ein.

Boden, Klima, Tradition

Im Gespräch mit den Marktverkäuferinnen und -verkäufern von Carouge erwähnt Chevrier immer wieder das besondere «Terroir» der Region. Der Begriff stammt ursprünglich aus der Weinwelt und beschreibt die charakteristischen Geschmäcker der natürlichen Umgebung einer Region. Ganz gleich, ob Wein, Tomate oder Käse – das spezifische Klima, die Bodenbeschaffenheit, aber auch die handwerkliche Tradition prägen den Geschmack eines Erzeugnisses. Für Chevrier bildet das Terroir der Region Genf die Grundlage seiner Handschrift als Koch. Er möchte den Geschmack der hier gelegenen Anbaugebiete zur Geltung bringen und bezieht daher fast alle Lebensmittel für seine Restaurants direkt von den lokalen Winzerinnen und Winzern, Fischereibetrieben, Viehzüchtern und Landwirten. Der exzellente Geschmack, mit dem Chevrier seinen Ruhm erlangt hat, beruht seiner Meinung nach vor allem auf der ehrlichen Arbeit seiner «Kollaborateure» in den ländlichen Gegenden rund um Genf. Sie sind es, die wirklich Grossartiges leisten – und das 365 Tage im Jahr.

 

 

Der Genusspate von Genf

american-express-philippe-chevrier-4

Philippe Chevrier

Zu seinem sechzigsten Geburtstag ist der zweifache Sternekoch, der mit seinen insgesamt sieben Restaurants unglaubliche 115 GaultMillau-Punkte hält, von der ehrwürdigen «Fondation pour la Promotion du Goût» zum Genusspaten ernannt worden.

american-express-philippe-chevrier-5

Auf der Suche nach dem gewissen «Esswas»

Genf ist seine Heimat, hier ist Chevrier zu Hause. «Die Genferinnen und Genfer» faszinieren den umtriebigen Gastronomen seit Kindertagen und so erforscht er die Gelüste, Eigenheiten und Vorlieben seiner Mitmenschen rund um den Lac Léman tagtäglich. 

american-express-philippe-chevrier-2

Boden, Klima, Tradition

Der exzellente Geschmack, mit dem Chevrier seinen Ruhm erlangt hat, beruht seiner Meinung nach vor allem auf der ehrlichen Arbeit seiner «Kollaborateure» in den ländlichen Gegenden rund um Genf. Sie sind es, die wirklich Grossartiges leisten – und das 365 Tage im Jahr.

Weitere Stories

Skulpturen aus Schnee und Eis

Überdimensionierte Katzen, ein riesiger Drache oder ein haushoher Lastwagen – Marcio Morais erschafft im beschaulichen Evolène faszinierende Skulpturen aus Schnee.

Passionierter Handwerker mit Weitblick

Koch David Heimer bringt mit seinem Team im Zürcher Restaurant «Josef» die nordische Küche in den Kreis 4.