Header

Search

Login

Over hill and dale through nature

Trail running – jogging off-road – is the trend sport at the moment and is also inspiring more and more people in Switzerland. We have collected the most important facts for you and present one of the most beautiful trail regions in Switzerland.

american-express-trail-running-1

Just start running

Trail running is the ideal outdoor sport for anyone who finds jogging too monotonous and hiking too boring.In principle, there are no rules and apart from a pair of sturdy trail running shoes, hardly any equipment is needed. You run over hill and dale, cross-country or along existing hiking trails. Sw itzerland offers the best conditions for long trail tours, especially in the mountain areas. On a single day’s tour, you can race through forests and remote villages over high alpine passes and glaciers. The well-developed public transport network also facilitates access, even to remote valleys. As a result, you can enjoy a constant run of Switzerland’s most beautiful landscapes.

Val d’Hérens trail paradise

Until about 10,000 years ago, the former Hérens glacier was still cleaving its way through the side valley of the Rhone here. Today Val d’Hérens (Eringertal) in the canton of Valais with the mountain resort of Arolla is a popular starting point for alpine glacier and mountain hut hikes as well as climbing tours. With 20 marked trail running routes, however, Val d’Hérens also offers ideal conditions for running enthusiasts and has become a center for the Swiss trail community. One of the most beautiful and challenging trails leads from St-Martin to Cabane Becs de Bosson. At 2,982 meters, a breathtaking view awaits you here, which makes you forget all your efforts.

Easy navigation thanks to own app

With the “Outdoor Expériences Val d’Hérens” mobile app trail enthusiasts have access to all relevant information about the routes even when they are on the move. Whether it’s the distance, altitude or estimated running time – the data is provided in real time thanks to geolocation. A handy additional feature of the app: Places of interest along the routes, such as the pyramids of Euseigne, are automatically displayed. So you will not only reach your destination safely, but are also guaranteed the full Val d’Hérens experience.

Easy start to trail running

“The body reacts instantly to the demands of the terrain. This can feel very harmonious in one minute and totally chaotic in another,” explains Kim Strom, writer and author of “Run the Alps Switzerland: 30 Must-Do Trail Runs”. Due to the often steep routes and differences in altitude that have to be overcome, trail running is significantly more strenuous and demanding than normal jogging. For a successful start, it is therefore a good idea to take a course with experienced trail experts. Throughout Switzerland there are numerous offers to specifically train your own running technique and to gain trail experience in a group. Find out more on the Switzerland Tourism trail running website - start running now! 

Trail running

american-express-trail-running-4

Val d’Hérens trail paradise

At 2,982 meters, a breathtaking view awaits you here, which makes you forget all your efforts.

american-express-trail-running-2

Easy start to trail running

Due to the often steep routes and differences in altitude that have to be overcome, trail running is significantly more strenuous and demanding than normal jogging.

american-express-trail-running-5

Easy navigation thanks to own app

Whether it’s the distance, altitude or estimated running time – the data is provided in real time thanks to geolocation.

Offers

Cervo Mountain Resort

Surrounded by the rugged beauty of Zermatt, the CERVO is the gateway to the mystical mountain world of the Alps. With a deeply rooted sense of the extraordinary, of highest quality and of authentic hospitality.

Walliserhof Grand-Hotel & Spa

Discover the most beautiful hiking trails around Saas-Fee. Recharge your batteries in the fresh mountain air and enjoy the breathtaking view of the four-thousand-meter peaks around Saas-Fee.

Fleurs de Zermatt

The Fleurs de Zermatt offers everything that a guest might desire.

More Stories

Up to 3,000 meters by e-mountain bike

"ꞌHaute Routeꞌ stands for the journey from one place to another, and over the highest peaks," Maxence Carron explains with sparkling eyes. He founded "e-Alps" together with Adrià Mercadé in 2019 and has been offering specially developed high-altitude tours for e-mountain biking ever since – the ultimate summer adventure that is doable for everyone.

The first e-road trip across Switzerland

4 language regions, 5 Alpine passes, 22 lakes and 12 UNESCO World Heritage sites – the E-Grand Tour of Switzerland offers more than just pure driving fun. With 300 charging stations for electric vehicles along the 1,600 kilometer route, the E-Grand Tour is the world’s first road trip for e-vehicles.

Header

Suche

Login

Über Stock und Stein durch die Natur

Trailrunning – Joggen im Gelände – ist die Trendsportart der Stunde und begeistert auch in der Schweiz immer mehr Menschen. Wir haben für Sie die wichtigsten Fakten gesammelt und stellen Ihnen eine der schönsten Trail-Regionen der Schweiz vor.

american-express-trail-running-1

Einfach loslaufen

Trailrunning ist der ideale Outdoorsport für alle, denen Joggen zu monoton und Wandern zu langweilig ist. Prinzipiell gibt es keine Regeln und ausser einem Paar stabiler Trail-Laufschuhe braucht es auch kaum Ausrüstung. Gelaufen wird über Stock und Stein, querfeldein oder entlang bestehender Wanderwege. Die Schweiz bietet hier besonders in den Berggebieten beste Voraussetzungen für ausgedehnte Trail-Touren. Auf einer einzigen Tagestour kann man durch Wälder und abgelegene Dörfer über hochalpine Pässe und Gletscher rennen. Das gut ausgebaute öffentliche Verkehrsnetz erleichtert zudem den Zugang – auch zu abgelegenen Tälern. So erleben Sie die schönsten Landschaften der Schweiz laufend neu.

Trail-Paradies Val d’Hérens

Bis vor gut 10 000 Jahren bahnte sich hier noch der ehemalige Hérens-Gletscher seinen Weg durch das Seitental der Rhone. Heute ist das Val d’Hérens (Eringertal) im Kanton Wallis mit dem Bergort Arolla ein beliebter Ausgangspunkt für alpine Gletscher- und Hüttenwanderungen sowie Klettertouren. Mit 20 markierten Trailrunning-Routen bietet das Val d’Hérens aber auch Laufbegeisterten ideale Voraussetzungen und ist inzwischen zu einem Zentrum der Schweizer Trail-Community geworden. Einer der schönsten und anspruchsvollsten Trails führt von St-Martin zur Cabane Becs de Bosson. Auf 2982 Metern erwartet Sie hier ein atemberaubender Ausblick, der einen jede Anstrengung vergessen lässt.

Einfache Navigation dank eigener App

Mit der Mobile-App «Outdoor Expériences Val d’Hérens» haben Trail-Begeisterte auch unterwegs Zugriff auf alle relevante Informationen zu den Routen. Ob Streckenlänge, Höhenmeter oder voraussichtliche Laufdauer – dank Geolokalisierung werden die Daten in Echtzeit bereitgestellt. Eine praktische Zusatzfunktion der App: Sehenswürdigkeiten entlang der Strecken, wie die Pyramiden von Euseigne, werden automatisch mitangezeigt. So kommen Sie nicht nur sicher ans Ziel, sondern auch garantiert zum vollen «Val d’Hérens»-Erlebnis.

Trail-Einstieg leicht gemacht

«Der Körper reagiert sehr direkt auf die Anforderungen des Geländes. Das kann sich einmal sehr harmonisch, ein anderes Mal total chaotisch anfühlen», erklärt Kim Strom, Schriftstellerin und Autorin von «Run the Alps Switzerland: 30 Must-Do Trail Runs». Durch die oft steilen Strecken und zu bewältigenden Höhenunterschiede ist Trailrunning deutlich anstrengender und anspruchsvoller als normales Joggen. Für den erfolgreichen Einstieg bietet es sich daher an, einen Kurs mit erfahrenen Trail-Expertinnen und -Experten zu machen. In der ganzen Schweiz gibt es zahlreiche Angebote, um die eigene Lauftechnik gezielt zu trainieren und in der Gruppe Trail-Erfahrung zu sammeln. Erfahren Sie mehr dazu auf der Trailrunning-Webseite von Schweiz Tourismus – jetzt loslaufen!

Trailrunning

american-express-trail-running-4

Trail-Paradies Val d’Hérens

Auf 2982 Metern erwartet Sie hier ein atemberaubender Ausblick, der einen jede Anstrengung vergessen lässt.

american-express-trail-running-2

Trail-Einstieg leicht gemacht

Durch die oft steilen Strecken und zu bewältigenden Höhenunterschiede ist Trailrunning deutlich anstrengender und anspruchsvoller als normales Joggen.

american-express-trail-running-5

Einfache Navigation dank eigener App

Höhenmeter oder voraussichtliche Laufdauer – dank Geolokalisierung werden die Daten in Echtzeit bereitgestellt.

Angebote

Cervo Mountain Resort

Umgeben von der rauen Schönheit Zermatts ist das CERVO das Tor zur mystischen Bergwelt der Alpen. Mit einem tief verankerten Bewusstsein für das Besondere, für höchste Qualität und für authentische Herzlichkeit.

Walliserhof Grand-Hotel & Spa

Entdecken Sie die schönsten Wanderwege rund um Saas-Fee. Tanken Sie an der frischen Bergluft Kraft, und geniessen Sie die atemberaubende Aussicht auf die Viertausender rund um Saas-Fee.

Fleurs de Zermatt

Im «Fleurs de Zermatt» gibt es alles, was das Gästeherz begehrt.

Mehr Stories

Mit dem E-MTB auf 3000 Meter

«‹Haute Route› steht für die Reise von einem Ort zum anderen und zwar über die höchsten Gipfel», erklärt Maxence Carron mit funkelnden Augen. Zusammen mit Adrià Mercadé hat er 2019 «e-Alps» gegründet und bietet seither speziell entwickelte Höhentouren fürs E-Mountainbike an – ein Sommererlebnis der Superlative, das für jede und jeden machbar ist.

Der erste E-Roadtrip quer durch die Schweiz

4 Sprachregionen, 5 Alpenpässe, 22 Seen und 12 UNESCO-Welterbestätten – die E-Grand Tour of Switzerland bietet mehr als puren Fahrspass. Mit 300 Ladestationen für Elektrofahrzeuge entlang der 1600 Kilometer langen Strecke ist die E-Grand Tour der weltweit erste Roadtrip für E-Fahrzeuge.