Header

Search

Login

Art and culture at every turn

St. Gallen was a European center for education and culture as far back as the Middle Ages. And the city in eastern Switzerland has a lot to offer in terms of art today too: It is home to important Swiss artists such as Roman Signer and Pipilotti Rist, and the culture on offer in its museums and public spaces is also extremely diverse. Monika Jagfeld, director of "Museum im Lagerhaus", takes you on a cultural city walk.

american-express-selects-st-gallen-1

The "Lagerhaus" is a striking building complex to the east of the railway station and undoubtedly one of the hot spots on the St. Gallen cultural scene. While it served as a bonded warehouse for the textile industry until the 1980s, it now houses the Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen as well as galleries and numerous studios. For example, the internationally renowned Riklin brothers Patrik and Frank have found their creative home here.

Amateurs and the self-taught are welcome!

Since 1988, the "Lagerhaus" has also housed the museum of the same name, which is the only one in Switzerland to specialize in Swiss Outsider Art, Art Brut and Naive Art: art movements whose products are created by amateurs and self-taught artists who have never received any academic art training. And the "Museum im Lagerhaus" collection is huge: It comprises over 8,000 works by more than 180 artists.

St. Gallen’s cultural diversity spots

But that is by no means all: On the walk you will not only experience art in the most obvious sense in the form of museums or galleries, as Monika Jagfeld impressively illustrates with her tour that art in St. Gallen is also everywhere in public spaces. For example, she also introduces you to less obvious works of art such as the binary clock by Swiss artist Norbert Möslang at St. Gallen railway station, projects by star architect Santiago Calatrava or the Hiltibold art showcases. And the art of enjoyment also has to be learned: There is always enough time for a coffee in the listed "Militärkantine". Afterwards the journey continues to the "Museumsquartier", before it culminates in the "Stadtlounge" by multimedia artist Pipilotti Rist: a red living room in the middle of the city that invites you to while away the hours.

Diverse city of art in Eastern Switzerland

american-express-selects-st-gallen-13

Art in the park

The Juggler Fountain by Max Oertli outside the Art Museum.

american-express-selects-st-gallen-15

Urban lounge St.Gallen

The red square of Pipilotti Rist and Carlos Martinez.

american-express-selects-st-gallen-5

Museum im Lagerhaus

Swiss outsider art, brutalist art and naïve art.

Offers

Einstein St.Gallen

Sebastian Zier blends classic French haute cuisine with the passionate influences of the avant-garde cooking style. The experience is complemented by perfect wine pairing that lends each course a harmonious note.

Header

Suche

Login

Kunst und Kultur auf Schritt und Tritt

Bereits im Mittelalter war St. Gallen ein europäisches Zentrum für Bildung und Kultur. Aber auch heute hat die Ostschweizer Stadt in Sachen Kunst einiges zu bieten: Sie ist Heimat bedeutender Schweizer Künstler wie Roman Signer oder Pipilotti Rist und auch das kulturelle Angebot ihrer Museen und öffentlichen Plätze ist äusserst vielfältig. Monika Jagfeld, Direktorin des «Museum im Lagerhaus», nimmt Sie auf einen kulturellen Stadt-Spaziergang mit.

american-express-selects-st-gallen-1

Das «Lagerhaus» ist ein markanter Gebäudekomplex östlich des Bahnhofs und zweifellos einer der Hotspots der St. Galler Kulturszene. Diente es bis in die 80er-Jahre noch als Zollfreilager für die Textilindustrie, beherbergt es heute neben der Kunst Halle [D1] Sankt Gallen auch Galerien und zahlreiche Ateliers. So haben beispielsweise die international bekannten Riklin-Brüder Patrik und Frank hier ihr kreatives Zuhause gefunden.

Laien und Autodidakten erwünscht!

Seit 1988 beherbergt das «Lagerhaus» auch das gleichnamige Museum, das sich – als einziges der Schweiz – auf die Schweizer Outsider Art, Art Brut und Naive Kunst spezialisiert hat: Kunstrichtungen, deren Produkte von Laien und Autodidakten geschaffen werden, die nie eine akademische Kunstausbildung absolviert haben. Und die Sammlung des «Museum im Lagerhaus» ist riesig: Sie umfasst über 8000 Werke von mehr als 180 Künstlerinnen und Künstlern.

Stationen der St. Galler Kulturvielfalt

Doch das ist noch lange nicht alles: Auf dem Spaziergang erleben Sie nicht nur Kunst im naheliegendsten Sinne in Form von Museen oder Galerien – Monika Jagfeld verdeutlicht mit ihrer Tour eindrücklich, dass Kunst in St. Gallen auch im öffentlichen Raum allgegenwärtig ist. So bringt sie Ihnen auch weniger offensichtliche Kunstwerke wie die binäre Uhr des Schweizer Künstlers Norbert Möslang am St. Galler Bahnhof, Projekte von Stararchitekt Santiago Calatrava oder die Hiltibold-Kunstschaufenster näher. Und auch die Kunst des Geniessens will gelernt sein: Für einen Kaffee in der denkmalgeschützten «Militärkantine» bleibt immer genügend Zeit. Danach geht die Reise weiter ins Museumsquartier, bevor sie ihren krönenden Abschluss in der Stadtlounge von Multimediakünstlerin Pipilotti Rist findet: ein rotes Wohnzimmer inmitten der Stadt, das zum Verweilen einlädt.

Vielfältige Kunstmetropole im Osten

american-express-selects-st-gallen-13

Ein Park für die Kunst

Der Gauklerbrunnen von Max Oertli beim Kunstmuseum.

american-express-selects-st-gallen-15

Stadtlounge St.Gallen

Der rote Platz von Pipilotti Rist und Carlos Martinez.

american-express-selects-st-gallen-5

Museum im Lagerhaus

Schweizer Outsider Art, Art Brut und Naive Kunst.

Angebote

Einstein St.Gallen

Sebastian Zier verschmilzt die klassische französische Haute Cuisine mit den leidenschaftlichen Einflüssen des avantgardistischen Kochstils. Das Erlebnis wird durch den passenden Wein ergänzt und verleiht jedem Gang eine harmonische Note.