Header

Search

Girl power in powder snow

Simply spending some quality sisterhood time together in the mountains, sharing ideas on the latest winter sports trends or testing your own limits together – we present the most exciting winter offers by women for women.

american-express-chixxs-on-board

Learning from experts

The topic is anything but new, and yet it is more present than ever: Although women make up more than half of humanity, many products, services and offers are still geared towards men. For Tanja Angst, organizer of the “Chixxs on Board” snowboard workshops, it goes without saying that something has to change. Like the Zurich snowboard enthusiast, professional climber Caroline George, yoga instructor Sheilina Durrer, outdoor guide Marina Grossrieder and many other winter sports enthusiasts are offering courses and events for women who want to push their limits together with others or experience something new.

Alone among men

Tanja Angst was boarding from an early age, first as a skateboarder and a short time later on a snowboard. Early on, she also found that she was often the only woman among men. What may be a cool experience on the one hand, was perceived again and again by Tanja as a missed opportunity at the same time. She missed other female boarders with whom she could share her passion for board sports. The interaction among women is simply totally different, Tanja finds, explaining, “When women are among themselves, there is a very special atmosphere, a dynamic that outsiders hardly understand.” She also became increasingly aware that there were far fewer offers and information for women on issues such as the suitable board or the best binding.

Chixxs on Board

She began to research and write articles and material guides herself – always from the woman’s point of view for women. Soon after, she founded “Chixxs on Board,” connecting female snowboarders across Switzerland to navigate the male-dominated board sports of snowboarding, surfing and skateboarding better together. “The small talk at the lift, the conversations in the park: Certain interaction levels are simply different among women,” Tanja explains the special dynamic during her courses. Since the company was founded eight years ago, the camps have always been fully booked. Tanja is offering several courses at the Freestyle Park Arosa Lenzerheide this year too. Click here for an overview of the courses.

Empowerment in the Alps

The selection of courses and events offered by women for women throughout Switzerland this winter is large and varied. Among them are such original offers as “Women draw strength from the mountains”, “Snowshoe tour & yoga course”, “Freeride and avalanche course for women” or Tanja Angst’s “Chixxs Half Pipe Workshop”. Despite all the diversity, all the organizers have a similar motivation in common: It is about empowerment in the alpine area. The participants should gain self-confidence, learn new skills and simply have fun. Anyone women interested can find the currently more than 30 different winter offers for women on a specially created Switzerland Tourism website. Find out more at myswitzerland.com/women

Connecting female

american-express-chixxs-on-board-2

Tanja Angst

Organizer of the “Chixxs on Board” snowboard workshops.

american-express-chixxs-on-board-3

Special dynamic

“The small talk at the lift, the conversations in the park: Certain interaction levels are simply different among women”.

american-express-chixxs-on-board-5

Empowerment in the Alps

The selection of courses and events offered by women for women throughout Switzerland this winter is large and varied.

Offers

xtraWine.com

20% reduction on selected wines

More Stories

Over hill and dale through nature

Trail running – jogging off-road – is the trend sport at the moment and is also inspiring more and more people in Switzerland. We have collected the most important facts for you and present one of the most beautiful trail regions in Switzerland.

The first e-road trip across Switzerland

4 language regions, 5 Alpine passes, 22 lakes and 12 UNESCO World Heritage sites – the E-Grand Tour of Switzerland offers more than just pure driving fun. With 300 charging stations for electric vehicles along the 1,600 kilometer route, the E-Grand Tour is the world’s first road trip for e-vehicles.

Header

Suche

Frauenpower im Pulverschnee

Einfach gemeinsam mit Freundinnen in den Bergen eine gute Zeit verbringen, sich über die neusten Wintersport-Trends austauschen oder zusammen die eigenen Grenzen ausloten – wir stellen Ihnen die spannendsten Winter-Angebote von Frauen für Frauen vor.

american-express-chixxs-on-board

Die Thematik ist alles andere als neu und trotzdem so präsent wie nie: Obwohl Frauen mehr als die Hälfte der Menschheit ausmachen, sind viele Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Angebote immer noch auf Männer ausgerichtet. Dass sich daran etwas ändern muss, ist für Tanja Angst, Organisatorin der «Chixxs on Board»-Snowboard-Workshops, eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Wie die Zürcher Snowboard-Enthusiastin bieten auch Profikletterin Caroline George, Yogalehrerin Sheilina Durrer, Outdoorguide Marina Grossrieder und viele andere Wintersport-begeisterte Sportlerinnen Kurse und Events für Frauen an, die gemeinsam mit anderen an ihre Grenzen gehen oder etwas Neues erleben möchten.

Allein unter Männern

Tanja Angst war schon früh auf Brettern unterwegs, erst als Skateboarderin und kurze Zeit später mit dem Snowboard. Früh musste sie auch feststellen, dass sie oft die einzige Frau unter Männern war. Was auf der einen Seite eine coole Erfahrung sein kann, nahm Tanja gleichzeitig auch immer wieder als verpasste Möglichkeit wahr. Ihr fehlten andere Boarderinnen, mit denen sie ihre Leidenschaft zum Brettsport teilen konnte. Der Umgang unter Frauen sei einfach ein ganz anderer, findet Tanja und erklärt: «Wenn Frauen unter sich sind, herrscht eine ganz spezielle Stimmung, eine Dynamik, die Aussenstehende kaum verstehen.» Zudem wurde ihr immer deutlicher bewusst, dass es für Frauen viel weniger Angebote und Informationen zu Fragen wie nach dem geeigneten Board oder der besten Bindung gab.

Chixxs on Board

Sie begann, zu recherchieren und selbst Artikel und Materialratgeber zu schreiben – immer aus der Sicht der Frau und für die Frau. Bald darauf gründete sie «Chixxs on Board» und vernetzte so Snowboarderinnen in der ganzen Schweiz, um sich gemeinsam besser in den männerdominierten Brettsportarten Snowboarden, Surfen und Skateboarden zurechtzufinden. «Der Small Talk am Lift, die Gespräche im Park: Gewisse Zwischenebenen sind unter Frauen einfach anders», erklärt Tanja die besondere Dynamik in ihren Kursen. Seit der Firmengründung vor acht Jahren sind die Camps immer ausgebucht. Auch dieses Jahr bietet Tanja wieder mehrere Kurse im Freestyle-Park Arosa Lenzerheide an. Hier gehts zur Kursübersicht.

Empowerment in den Alpen

Die Auswahl an Kursen und Events, die diesen Winter in der ganzen Schweiz von Frauen für Frauen angeboten werden, ist gross und bunt. Darunter finden sich so originelle Angebote wie «Berge stärken Frauen», «Schneeschuhtour & Yoga Tage», «Freeride und Lawinenkurs für Frauen» oder Tanja Angsts «Chixxs Half Pipe Workshop». Bei aller Vielfalt ist die Motivation der jeweiligen Macherinnen ähnlich: Es geht um Empowerment im alpinen Gebiet. Die Teilnehmerinnen sollen Selbstvertrauen tanken, neue Fähigkeiten erlernen und einfach Spass haben. Auf einer eigens eingerichteten Website von Schweiz Tourismus finden Interessierte die aktuell über 30 verschiedenen Winterangebote für Frauen. Mehr erfahren Sie unter myswitzerland.com/women.

Von Expertinnen lernen

american-express-chixxs-on-board-2

Tanja Angst

Organisatorin der «Chixxs on Board»-Snowboard-Workshops.

american-express-chixxs-on-board-3

Besondere Dynamik

«Wenn Frauen unter sich sind, herrscht eine ganz spezielle Stimmung, eine Dynamik, die Aussenstehende kaum verstehen.»

american-express-chixxs-on-board-5

Empowerment in den Alpen

Die Auswahl an Kursen und Events, die diesen Winter in der ganzen Schweiz von Frauen für Frauen angeboten werden, ist gross und bunt.

Angebote

xtraWine.com

20% auf ausgewählte Weine

Mehr Stories

Über Stock und Stein durch die Natur

Trailrunning – Joggen im Gelände – ist die Trendsportart der Stunde und begeistert auch in der Schweiz immer mehr Menschen. Wir haben für Sie die wichtigsten Fakten gesammelt und stellen Ihnen eine der schönsten Trail-Regionen der Schweiz vor.

Der erste E-Roadtrip quer durch die Schweiz

4 Sprachregionen, 5 Alpenpässe, 22 Seen und 12 UNESCO-Welterbestätten – die E-Grand Tour of Switzerland bietet mehr als puren Fahrspass. Mit 300 Ladestationen für Elektrofahrzeuge entlang der 1600 Kilometer langen Strecke ist die E-Grand Tour der weltweit erste Roadtrip für E-Fahrzeuge.