Header

Search

Login

House bees sweeten your stay

In 2015, a concrete idea emerged from the desire of the “Schweizerhof” to do something good for the environment and prevent bees from dying out: Three beehives were set up on the roof of the hotel in Bern. Since then, the 150,000 or so winged female employees have been tirelessly swarming over the federal city to collect their nectar in the gardens and avenues. Maple, horse chestnut, acacia and lime – the aroma of their honey is as diverse as its surroundings.

american-express-selects-bienen-hauptbild

Twice a year Jo Roth comes by to harvest the hives. The beekeeper processes the honeycombs on his own and delivers a good 160 kilograms of ready-to-eat honey to the hotel. This is reserved for guests at the “Schweizerhof”, but there is virtually no way around the sweet elixir for them: It is given as a gift to guests, assists the relaxing effect of the fascia massage in the in-house spa and can be found at the breakfast table as fine sweetness in tea or a creamy spread on a slice of buttered sourdough bread.

As old as the buzzing of bees

Bees have been flying over this world’s soils for many millions of years in search of flower nectar. The age of some amber finds containing bees has been dated to over 50 million years. We humans have been aware of the pleasure and benefits that honey brings us, since comparatively recently. The murals in the “Cuevas de la Araña” in the Province of Valencia in eastern Spain, showing the first surviving honey hunter “harvesting” a bees’ nest, is estimated to be eight thousand years old.

Holistic approach makes an impact

From the Mayas in South America to the Nordic Germanic tribes, honey played an important role from then on. The Germanic tribes used it to mix mead, a potion of the gods, while the Mayans used it primarily as a remedy and in ritual acts. It is just as hard to imagine our lives without the golden multi-talent as its industrious makers. They not only fertilize flowers and trees in their daily work, but also give honey its healing properties. Scientists assume that the antimicrobial effect of honey is due to the bees’ enzymes. The hotel masseuse at the “Schweizerhof”, Brigitte Bernold, emphasizes the positive effect of honey on tense tissue. Its sticky consistency supports the effect of fascia massage – which can be a little painful, but reliably helps against tight shoulders and a stiff back. The honey and the path taken by the “Schweizerhof” are not only well received by tense guests: In 2019, myclimate awarded the hotel as a pioneer for holistic sustainability in the hotel business.

A taste of honey

american-express-selects-bienen-1

How honey is made

Since 2015, the roof of the “Schweizerhof” has been home to three colonies of bees, who forage for nectar in Bern’s gardens.

american-express-selects-bienen-2

The honey-fascia massage

The honey is warmed up shortly before it is applied.

american-express-selects-bienen-3

A signature treatment

The viscous movements loosen up the fasciae.

Offers

Batmaid Club

Powerful dishwasher and laundry tabs without harsh chemicals by Batmaid: the Swiss home cleaning professionals. Made with 96% biodegradable ingredients, every purchase plants a tree through the NGO One Tree Planted.

Chalet RoyAlp Hôtel & Spa

Elegant and informal, cozy and authentic: the Chalet RoyAlp Hôtel & Spa, one of the Leading Hotels of the World, invites you to relax within extraordinary surroundings.

Deltapark Vitalresort, Gwatt bei Thun

The 4-star superior hotel directly on Lake Thun has 106 rooms, three lakeside villas, four restaurants and a 2,000 m2 wellness area. With its three pillars - relaxation, exercise and enjoyment - Deltapark provides holistic offers for a healthier everyday life.

Header

Suche

Login

Hausbienen versüssen Aufenthalt

2015 entstand aus dem Wunsch des «Schweizerhof», etwas Gutes für die Umwelt und gegen das Bienensterben zu tun, eine konkrete Idee: Auf dem Dach des Hotels in Bern wurden drei Bienenstöcke aufgebaut. Seither schwärmen die gut 150 000 beflügelten Mitarbeiterinnen unermüdlich über die Bundesstadt aus, um in den Gärten und den Alleen ihren Nektar zu sammeln. Ahorn, Rosskastanie, Akazie und Linde – das Aroma ihres Honigs ist so vielfältig wie seine Umgebung.

american-express-selects-bienen-hauptbild

Zweimal im Jahr kommt Jo Roth vorbei, um die Bienenstöcke zu ernten. Der Imker verarbeitet die Waben in Eigenregie und liefert gut 160 Kilogramm verzehrfertigen Honig ans Hotel. Dieser ist den Gästen des «Schweizerhof» vorbehalten, für diese führt jedoch quasi kein Weg am süssen Elixier vorbei: Er wird als Gästegeschenk gereicht, unterstützt im hauseigenen Spa die lockernde Wirkung der Faszienmassage und ist am Frühstückstisch als feine Süsse im Tee oder sämiger Aufstrich auf einer Scheibe gebutterten Sauerteigbrots anzutreffen.

So alt wie das Summen der Bienen

Bienen fliegen schon seit vielen Millionen Jahren auf der Suche nach Blütennektar über die Böden dieser Welt. Das Alter einiger Bernsteinfunde, in denen Bienen eingeschlossenen sind, wurde auf über 50 Millionen Jahre datiert. Wir Menschen wissen um den Genuss und Nutzen, den uns Honig beschert, vergleichsweise erst seit Kurzem. Auf achttausend Jahre werden die Wandmalereien in den «Cuevas de la Araña» in der Provinz Valencia im Osten Spaniens geschätzt, die die erste überlieferte Honigjägerin bei der «Ernte» eines Bienennests zeigen.

Ganzheitliche Ausrichtung zeigt Wirkung

Von den Mayas in Südamerika bis zu den nordischen Germanenstämmen spielte Honig fortan eine wichtige Rolle. Die Germanen mischten daraus ihren Göttertrank Met, bei den Mayas kam er vor allem als Heilmittel und in rituellen Handlungen zum Einsatz. Das goldene Multitalent ist so schwer aus unserem Leben wegzudenken wie seine fleissigen Schöpferinnen. Diese befruchten bei ihrer täglichen Arbeit nicht nur Blumen und Bäume, sondern verleihen dem Honig auch seine heilende Wirkung. Wissenschaftler gehen davon aus, dass die antimikrobielle Wirkung von Honig auf Enzyme der Biene zurückzuführen ist. Die Hotel-Masseurin im «Schweizerhof», Brigitte Bernold, betont die positive Wirkung des Honigs auf verspanntes Gewebe. Seine klebrige Konsistenz unterstützt den Effekt der Faszienmassage – das kann zwar etwas schmerzhaft sein, hilft aber zuverlässig gegen verhärtete Schultern und einen steifen Rücken. Der Honig sowie der damit eingeschlagene Weg des «Schweizerhof» kommen nicht nur bei verspannten Gästen gut an: 2019 zeichnete myclimate das Hotel als Vorreiter für eine ganzheitlich gedachte Nachhaltigkeit im Hotelbetrieb aus.

Das geht runter wie Honig

american-express-selects-bienen-1

Die Entstehung von Honig

 Seit 2015 tragen auf dem Dach des «Schweizerhofs» drei Bienenvölker den Nektar Berns zusammen.

american-express-selects-bienen-2

Die Honig-Faszienmassage

Der Honig wird jeweils kurz vor der Anwendung erwärmt.

american-express-selects-bienen-3

ein Signature Treatment

Die klebenden Bewegungen lösen die Faszien.

Angebote

Deltapark Vitalresort, Gwatt bei Thun

Das 4 Sterne Superior Hotel direkt am Thunersee verfügt über 106 Zimmer, drei Seevillen, vier Restaurants & ein 2‘000 m2 grosser Wellnessbereich. Mit den drei Pfeilern Entspannung, Bewegung und Genuss bietet der Deltapark ganzheitliche Angebote für einen gesünderen Alltag.