Header

Search

Login

Up to 3,000 meters by e-mountain bike

"ꞌHaute Routeꞌ stands for the journey from one place to another, and over the highest peaks," Maxence Carron explains with sparkling eyes. He founded "e-Alps" together with Adrià Mercadé in 2019 and has been offering specially developed high-altitude tours for e-mountain biking ever since – the ultimate summer adventure that is doable for everyone.

american-express-selects-e-bike-hauptbild

Crossing the Alps at the highest point

"Haute Route" is a magical term for many mountain enthusiasts. It refers to the world-famous ski and glacier tour that leads from Chamonix in France across the glaciers and peaks of the Valais Alps to Zermatt. The "Hautes Routes" for e-mountain biking, which are offered by "e-Alps", do not lead over glaciers, but over no less spectacular single trails. "We cross the Alps at their highest points together," enthuses the founder of "e-Alps". The e-mountain bike makes this unique experience possible for practically everyone aged between 14 and 74: The built-in electric motor doesn’t give you any altitude gain, but it makes the "climb" much easier.

Emotional highs guaranteed

For example, the tour from the tranquil mountain village of La Sage (1,668 m above sea level) up to the Col de Torrent (2,916 m above sea level) takes just under three hours. The entire trail can be ridden except for a few meters of altitude below the pass. As soon as we reach the top, the curtain of clouds lifts and it is not just the 1,300 meters of altitude you have conquered that take your breath away, but above all the sight of the majestic snow peaks all around. Maxence Carron is convinced, "The tours can be done by everyone and are guaranteed to put a smile on anyone’s face."

A breathtaking playground

The Valais Alps impress even experienced alpinists: More than 40 snow-covered four-thousand-meter peaks tower here at the ends of steeply rising valley sides. Crossing them is the consummate outdoor adventure. What Maxence Carron particularly appreciates about his homeland: "The Valais Alps are a biker’s dream. There are trails that can still be ridden up to 2,500 meters altitude. They are a fantastic playground that you won’t find anywhere else." Die-hard mountain bikers have known for a long time: The Valais trails are among the best in the entire Alpine region. Due to the large differences in altitude, you cross several vegetation levels. The character of the trails also changes constantly: from rocky and sandy in alpine terrain to endless flowing trails through larch forests.

A mountain adventure for everyone

In addition to the original 7-day version of the "e-Haute Route", the clever mountain biker has also developed a somewhat shorter tour from Verbier for beginners. The technically simpler "Family & Friends Haute Route", which takes just four days, is also very popular: "We have had a 70-year-old couple, parents with teenagers and a 30-year-old daughter with her mother with us, and all of them mastered the shared experience and greatly appreciated it." Sufficient breaks are of course planned for every tour: Because the stage stops, including snacks with regional specialties and overnight stays in authentic accommodation, make a "Route à la e-Alps" a unique adventure that you won’t forget in a hurry.

The Haute Route e-mountain bike tour

american-express-selects-e-bike-1

The land of trails and traditions

Grimentz — a mountain village straight out of a picture book.

american-express-selects-e-bike-2

An additive paradise of e-bike trails

Epic trails in a wild lunar landscape, without a soul in sight, are a sheer delight.

american-express-selects-e-bike-3

240 kilometres and 12,100 altitude metres

That's the distance you'll cover on the 7-day e-Haute Route from Chamonix to Zermatt.

Header

Suche

Login

Mit dem E-MTB auf 3000 Meter

«‹Haute Route› steht für die Reise von einem Ort zum anderen und zwar über die höchsten Gipfel», erklärt Maxence Carron mit funkelnden Augen. Zusammen mit Adrià Mercadé hat er 2019 «e-Alps» gegründet und bietet seither speziell entwickelte Höhentouren fürs E-Mountainbike an – ein Sommererlebnis der Superlative, das für jede und jeden machbar ist.

american-express-selects-e-bike-hauptbild

Die Alpen an der höchsten Stelle überqueren

Für viele Bergenthusiasten ist die «Haute Route» ein magischer Begriff. Er bezeichnet die weltberühmte Ski- und Gletschertour, die vom französischen Chamonix über die Gletscher und Gipfel der Walliser Alpen bis nach Zermatt führt. Die «Hautes Routes» fürs E-Mountainbike, die von «e-Alps» angeboten werden, führen zwar nicht über Gletscher, dafür aber über nicht weniger spektakuläre Singletrails. «Gemeinsam überqueren wir die Alpen an ihren höchsten Stellen», schwärmt der Gründer von «e-Alps». Das E-Mountainbike ermöglicht dabei praktisch jeder und jedem zwischen 14 und 74 Jahren dieses einmalige Erlebnis: Der eingebaute Elektromotor schenkt einem zwar keine Höhenmeter, erleichtert den «Aufstieg» aber ungemein.

Hochgefühle garantiert

Knapp drei Stunden dauert beispielsweise die Tour vom beschaulichen Bergdorf La Sage (1668 m ü. M.) hoch zum Col de Torrent (2916 m ü. M.). Bis auf wenige Höhenmeter unterhalb des Passes ist der gesamte Wanderweg befahrbar. Kaum oben, lüftet sich der Wolkenvorhang und es sind nicht nur die überwundenen 1300 Höhenmeter, die einem den Atem rauben, sondern vor allem der Anblick der majestätischen Schneegipfel rundherum. Maxence Carron ist überzeugt: «Die Touren sind für alle zu schaffen und zaubern garantiert jedem ein Lächeln ins Gesicht.»

Ein atemberaubender Spielplatz

Die Walliser Alpen beeindrucken auch erfahrene Alpinisten: Über 40 schneebedeckte Viertausender thronen hier an den Enden steil hochragender Talflanken. Ihre Überquerung ist ein Naturerlebnis der Superlative. Was Maxence Carron an seiner Heimat besonders schätzt: «Die Walliser Alpen sind ein Traum für Biker. Es gibt Wege, die noch bis auf 2500 Meter Höhe befahrbar sind. Sie sind ein grossartiger Spielplatz, wie man ihn sonst nirgendwo findet.» Eingefleischte Mountainbiker wissen schon lange: Die Walliser Trails gehören zu den besten des gesamten Alpenraums. Aufgrund der grossen Höhenunterschiede durchquert man mehrere Vegetationsstufen. Auch der Charakter der Wege ändert ständig: von felsig-sandig im alpinen Terrain zu endlos flowigen Trails durch Lärchenwälder.

Ein Bergabenteuer für jede und jeden

Nebst der 7-tägigen Originalvariante der «e-Haute Route» entwickelte der pfiffige Mountainbiker auch eine etwas kürzere Tour ab Verbier für Einsteiger. Grossen Anklang findet ausserdem die technisch noch etwas einfachere «Family & Friends Haute Route», die nur vier Tage dauert: «Wir hatten ein 70-jähriges Paar mit dabei, Eltern mit Teenagern, eine 30-jährige Tochter mit ihrer Mutter – alle haben das gemeinsame Erlebnis gemeistert und ausserordentlich geschätzt.» Natürlich sind bei jeder Tour ausreichend Pausen eingeplant: Denn auch die Etappenstopps inklusive Zwischenverpflegung mit regionalen Spezialitäten und Übernachtungen in originellen Unterkünften machen eine «Route à la e-Alps» zu einem einmaligen Abenteuer, das Sie nicht so schnell vergessen werden.

Die E-MTB Haute Route

american-express-selects-e-bike-1

Im Reich der Trails und Traditionen

Grimentz – ein Bergdorf wie aus dem Bilderbuch.

american-express-selects-e-bike-2

Trail-Dorado mit Suchtpotenzial

Epische Trailsl inmitten wilder Mondlandschaft, weit und breit keine Menscheseele: Das weckt pure Glücksgefühle. 

american-express-selects-e-bike-3

240 km und 12‘100 hm

Legt man auf der 7-tägigen e-Haute Route von Chamonix nach Zermatt zurück.