Header

Search

Login

Zurich’s gallery mile

A new era is dawning in and around the renowned Kunsthaus in Zurich: The extension by architect David Chipperfield makes the museum the largest art museum in Switzerland. And like a cultural magnet, the Kunsthaus is attracting new galleries and creative workshops to set up shop around the museum.

american-express-selects-citytrip-zuerich-hauptbild

The vibrant city of art and culture

Ever since the Kunsthaus first opened its doors on Heimplatz in Zurich in 1910, it has been impossible to imagine Zurich’s art and cultural scene without it. The founding of the Cabaret Voltaire in Niederdorf, just a stone’s throw from the Kunsthaus, marks the birth of Dadaism. The geographical proximity of the founding site of Dadaist art (an art form that called all previous art into question) to the renowned Kunsthaus shows that the area around Heimplatz has deeply fascinated artists for over a century. And you can see that again today: With Zurich West having long been considered a new hotspot for the art scene with its industrial past, more and more artists and art lovers have recently been looking to get closer to the old town and the Kunsthaus again. "The area around Kunsthaus Zürich has become very dynamic again with the openings of many established, but also young and innovative galleries," says Charlotte von Stotzingen, Zurich Art Weekend Director.

The pulse of Zurich art

Charlotte von Stotzingen is very familiar with the Zurich art world. She offers the art scene a platform every year with the Zurich Art Weekend: One week before Art Basel opens its doors, Zurich becomes a hot spot for international art for a whole weekend. During Zurich Art Weekend, private and public art institutions and hip off-spaces open their doors together. This is another reason why von Stotzingen is pleased about the various new openings around the Kunsthaus: for instance, Galerie Presenhuber, which has been running a gallery near the museum since 2020. Or the Zurich branch of the renowned Lévy Gorvy with Rumbler gallery. Hauser & Wirth has also recently opened two branches on Rämistrasse – a bookshop and an exhibition room.

More space for top-class art

The Kunsthaus extension will officially open in fall 2021. The cuboid structure was designed and built by David Chipperfield, an internationally award-winning British architect, and forms a magnificent ensemble together with the main building, which has been standing for over 100 years. The additional 5000 m2 of exhibition space in the extension will make Kunsthaus Zürich the largest art museum in Switzerland. The extension will provide additional exhibition space for the museum’s top-class collection – one of the largest art collections in Switzerland. Permanent presentations of the collection and internationally acclaimed temporary exhibitions have made the Kunsthaus a popular public attraction for many years. In addition to old masters, there are important paintings by Picasso, Monet and Chagall, but also by numerous contemporary artists such as Fischli/Weiss or Sylvie Fleury. Also worth noting: The Kunsthaus houses the most extensive collection of works by the famous Swiss artist Alberto Giacometti.

"The Gates of Hell", lights and stage

There is also art to marvel at outside the museum. "The Gates of Hell" by Auguste Rodin has been permanently located in front of the entrance since 1949. Weighing eight tons, the bronze sculpture depicts a vision of the afterlife inspired by Dante’s Inferno of the Divine Comedy. A contemporary sculpture has recently been added to the artistic diversity on Heimplatz: A light and video installation by Swiss artist Pipilotti Rist reveals its effect at nightfall, projecting colored points of light onto the surrounding buildings. And when the installation’s lights go up in the evening and the galleries and museums close their doors, another art institution right next to the art museum really comes to life: the Schauspielhaus theater. Artistic and cultural life knows no media boundaries around Heimplatz – the pulse of Zurich’s art scene can indeed be felt here at almost any time of day or night.

An art and gallery tour around Kunsthaus Zürich

american-express-selects-citytrip-zuerich-1

The area around Kunsthaus Zürich

Eva Presenhuber gallery on Waldmannstrasse in Niederdorf.

american-express-selects-citytrip-zuerich-2

There's theatre to enjoy across the street

Foyer of the Schauspielhaus Zurich.

american-express-selects-citytrip-zuerich-3

Dynamic gallery city

But more and more galleries once again want to be close to Kunsthaus Zürich.

Offers

Hotel City Zürich

Since its conversion in 2014, the stylish boutique hotel radiates renewed brilliance. A hotel aligned to business people and discerning travelers, offering good value for money. The three-star hotel has 60 rooms, all equipped with spacious work areas, free Internet access and printer if you need one. Bright conference room, onsite restaurant and fitness and sauna in the exclusive Holmes Spa. Children welcome. The famous Bahnhofstrasse and Paradeplatz are within walking distance.

Club Golf

Interested in exploring the fascinating world of golf? Or perhaps you’d like to deepen your golf skills and improve your handicap? We have tailor-made group and private courses for you. Our PGA Professionals will get you going efficiently and in a target-oriented manner.

Hotel AMERON Zurich Bellerive au Lac

Discover the unique combination of urban lifestyle and Mediterranean flair at the superior 4-star Hotel AMERON Zurich Bellerive au Lac, located directly on the shores of Lake Zurich.

Header

Suche

Login

Die Zürcher Galerienmeile

Im und rund um das renommierte Kunsthaus in Zürich bricht ein neues Zeitalter an: Der Erweiterungsbau des Architekten David Chipperfield macht das Haus zum grössten Kunstmuseum der Schweiz. Und wie ein kultureller Magnet zieht das Kunsthaus neue Galerien und kreative Werkstätten an, die sich rund um das Museum niederlassen.

american-express-selects-citytrip-zuerich-hauptbild

Die lebendige Kunst- und Kulturstadt

Seit das Kunsthaus am Heimplatz in Zürich 1910 zum ersten Mal seine Türen öffnete, ist es nicht mehr aus der Zürcher Kunst- und Kulturszene wegzudenken. Die Gründung des Cabaret Voltaire im Niederdorf – nur einen Steinwurf vom Kunsthaus entfernt – markiert die Geburtsstunde des Dadaismus. Die geografische Nähe des Gründungsorts der dadaistischen Kunst (eine Kunstform, die alle bisherige Kunst infrage stellte) zum renommierten Kunsthaus zeigt, dass die Gegend rund um den Heimplatz bereits seit über einem Jahrhundert eine grosse Faszination auf Kunstschaffende ausübt. Und das sieht man auch heute wieder: Nachdem Zürich-West mit seiner industriellen Vergangenheit lange Zeit als neuer Wirkungsort der Kunstszene galt, suchen jüngst immer mehr Kunstschaffende und -liebhaber wieder die Nähe zur Altstadt und zum Kunsthaus. «Die Gegend um das Kunsthaus Zürich ist mit den Eröffnungen vieler etablierter, aber auch junger und innovativer Galerien wieder sehr dynamisch geworden», so Charlotte von Stotzingen, Direktorin Zurich Art Weekend.

Der Puls der Zürcher Kunst

Charlotte von Stotzingen ist mit der Zürcher Kunstwelt bestens vertraut. Mit dem Zurich Art Weekend bietet sie der Kunstszene jedes Jahr eine Plattform: Eine Woche, bevor die Art Basel ihre Tore öffnet, wird Zürich ein Wochenende lang zum Hotspot der internationalen Kunst. Während des Zurich Art Weekends öffnen private und öffentliche Kunstinstitutionen und angesagte Off-Spaces gemeinsam ihre Türen. Auch deshalb freut sich von Stotzingen über die verschiedenen Neueröffnungen rund um das Kunsthaus: zum Beispiel die Galerie Presenhuber, die seit 2020 einen Standort in der Nähe des Museums betreibt. Oder der Zürcher Ableger der renommierten Galerie Lévy Gorvy with Rumbler. Auch Hauser & Wirth ist seit Kurzem mit zwei Filialen an der Rämistrasse vertreten – einem Bookshop und einem Ausstellungsraum.

Mehr Platz für hochkarätige Kunst

Im Herbst 2021 wird der Erweiterungsbau des Kunsthauses offiziell eröffnet. Das quaderförmige Bauwerk wurde von David Chipperfield, einem international prämierten britischen Architekten, entworfen und gebaut und bildet zusammen mit dem seit über 100 Jahren bestehenden Hauptgebäude ein imposantes Ensemble. Die zusätzlichen 5000 m2 Ausstellungsfläche des Erweiterungsbaus machen das Kunsthaus Zürich zum grössten Kunstmuseum der Schweiz. Mit dem Erweiterungsbau entsteht zusätzlicher Ausstellungsraum für die hochkarätige Sammlung des Hauses – eine der grössten Kunstsammlungen der Schweiz. Permanente Sammlungspräsentationen und international beachtete Wechselausstellungen machen das Kunsthaus seit vielen Jahren zum Publikumsmagnet. Neben alten Meistern findet man hier bedeutende Bilder von Picasso, Monet und Chagall, aber auch von zahlreichen zeitgenössischen Künstlern wie Fischli/Weiss oder Sylvie Fleury. Auch erwähnenswert: Im Kunsthaus befindet sich die umfangreichste Werksammlung des berühmten Schweizer Künstlers Alberto Giacometti.

«Das Höllentor», die Lichter und die Bühne

Auch ausserhalb des Museums gibt es Kunst zu bestaunen. Seit 1949 hat «das Höllentor» von Auguste Rodin seinen festen Platz vor dem Eingang. Acht Tonnen wiegt die Bronzeskulptur und zeigt die Vision des Jenseits, inspiriert von Dantes Inferno der Göttlichen Komödie. Seit Kurzem ergänzt eine zeitgenössische Skulptur die künstlerische Vielfalt am Heimplatz: Eine Licht- und Videoinstallation der Schweizer Künstlerin Pipilotti Rist entfaltet bei Einbruch der Dunkelheit ihre Wirkung und projiziert farbige Lichtpunkte auf die umliegenden Gebäude. Und wenn abends die Lichter der Installation angehen und die Galerien und Museen ihre Türen schliessen, erwacht eine weitere Kunstinstitution gleich neben dem Kunstmuseum erst so richtig zum Leben: das Schauspielhaus. Das künstlerische und kulturelle Leben kennt rund um den Heimplatz keine medialen Grenzen – der Puls der Zürcher Kunstszene ist hier tatsächlich zu fast jeder Tages- und Nachtzeit spürbar.

Auf Kunst- und Galerienbummel rund um das Kunsthaus Zürich

american-express-selects-citytrip-zuerich-1

Die Gegend um das Kunsthaus

Galerie Eva Presenhuber an der Waldmannstrasse im Niederdorf.

american-express-selects-citytrip-zuerich-2

Auf der anderen Strassenseite gibt’s Theater

Foyer des Schauspielhaus Zürich.

american-express-selects-citytrip-zuerich-3

Dynamische Galerienstadt

Immer mehr Galerien suchen wieder die Nähe des Kunsthaus Zürich.

Angebote

Hotel City Zürich

Das geschmackvolle Boutiquehotel strahlt seit seinem Umbau 2014 in neuem Glanz. Es ist auf Geschäftsleute und anspruchsvolle Reisende ausgerichtet. Gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis. Insgesamt bietet das Drei-Sterne-Hotel 60 Zimmer, alle mit grosszügigen Arbeitsflächen, kostenlosem Internetzugang und auf Wunsch mit Drucker ausgestattet. Heller Konferenzraum. Restaurant im Haus, Fitness und Sauna im exklusiven Holmes Spa. Kinder willkommen. Bahnhofstrasse und Paradeplatz liegen in Fussdistanz.