Header

Search

Login

Urban art meets nature

Vero and Marco Schmid are the urban art couple "QueenKong". The source of inspiration for their ideas is nature. Which is why Lucerne is perfect for their art – because nowhere else do the city and nature belong together as closely as in the city on Pilatus mountain.

american-express-selects-citytrip-luzern-hauptbild

Home is where the spray cans are

Vero and Marco Schmid traveled together around the world for two years, financing the trip by painting walls. "QueenKong" was born in New York in 2009, when the two sprayed their artist’s name on a wall under their artwork for the first time at the legendary "5 Pointz" mural space. During their travels, they realized that their home town was ideal for their art. Today they work in their Lucerne studio, which is located right next to the railway tracks in the middle of the city, but at the same time affords them a view of their local mountain, Pilatus.

Nature as a source of inspiration

They embellish urban centers with their works on the walls of buildings, which can be up to 40 meters high. However, their motifs are unusual for the urban art scene. Their paintings mainly depict natural subjects, such as animals, waters, mountains. This is another reason why Lucerne is the perfect place to live and work for the artist couple. It takes just over an hour to reach the summit of Pilatus mountain from the city center – the ideal place to recharge your batteries and find inspiration. "Pilatus is spectacular. The way it is always just standing there radiating calm, the effect it has on the city," Vero explains her love for the local mountain. What she and Marco observe and experience high up on the "Dragon Mountain" they later paint on urban house walls. Their sketchbook is their constant companion, whether it’s high up on the mountain or down by the water or in the city.

Urban art as a mouthpiece for the city

"Street art is something that changes a cityscape, and in a way it’s also a mouthpiece," Marco Schmid explains. It can upgrade neighborhoods, increasing their value. For example, he and Vero painted an entire house at Bernstrasse 62 in Lucerne. A giant bear adorns the building, attracting attention, and transforming a virtually invisible house into a real eye-catcher by Vero and Marco. As the couple walk through their city and check out their murals, a certain sense of satisfaction sets in. Making the feeling of having settled down in the right place even stronger.

There’s nowhere else on earth where town and nature are so closely allied

american-express-selects-citytrip-luzern-1

Nature as a source of inspiration

Marco and Vero consider the work with the Pilatus above.

american-express-selects-citytrip-luzern-2

Mountain experiences close to the city

The view of Lace Lucerne.

american-express-selects-citytrip-luzern-3

The lake – another world

Swimming in Lake Lucerne with its panoramic mountain views is something you’ll never forget.

Offers

Jugendstil-Hotel PAXMONTANA

Treat yourself to some relaxation in a powerful natural environment – Flüeli-Ranft! The former spa house Nünalphorn is idyllically situated on a hilltop in the center of Switzerland. Its friendly atmosphere invites you to visit in the warm summer as well as in the enchanting winter.

Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern

5-star culture with personal charm and nostalgic luxury. Situated directly on Lake Lucerne with spectacular lake, mountain and city views. This hotel, parts of which are under monument protection, has been run by the Hauser family since 1861. All of our 101 elegant suites and rooms have been renovated since April 2014. Two top-class restaurants featuring Swiss and Mediterranean cuisine, trendy bar with live music. A festival hotel "where Lucerne celebrates life".

Header

Suche

Login

Urban Art trifft Natur

Vero und Marco Schmid sind zusammen das Urban-Art-Paar «QueenKong». Ihre Ideengeberin ist die Natur. Deshalb eignet sich Luzern für die beiden perfekt für ihre Kunst – denn nirgendwo sonst gehören Stadt und Natur so eng zusammen wie in der Stadt am Pilatus.

american-express-selects-citytrip-luzern-hauptbild

Zu Hause ist, wo die Spraydosen sind

Gemeinsam reisten Vero und Marco Schmid zwei Jahre lang um die Welt – finanziert haben sie sich den Trip, indem sie Wände bemalten. In New York erblickte 2009 «QueenKong» das Licht der Welt, als die beiden auf dem legendären «5 Pointz»-Areal zum ersten Mal den Künstlernamen auf eine Wand unter ihr Kunstwerk sprayten. Während ihrer Reise erkannten sie, dass sich ihr Heimatort am besten für ihre Kunst eignet. Heute wirken sie in ihrem Luzerner Atelier, das direkt an den Gleisen inmitten der Stadt liegt, ihnen aber gleichzeitig einen Ausblick auf den Hausberg Pilatus erlaubt.

Die Natur als Inspirationsquelle

Mit ihren bis zu 40 Meter hohen Werken an Hauswänden verschönern sie urbane Zentren. Ungewöhnlich für die Szene der «Urban Art» sind jedoch ihre Motive. Ihre Bilder zeigen hauptsächliche natürliche Sujets: Tiere, Gewässer, Berge. Auch deshalb ist Luzern der perfekte Wohn- und Arbeitsort für das Künstlerpaar. Vom Stadtzentrum aus braucht man nur gut eine Stunde auf den Gipfel des Pilatus – der ideale Ort, um Energie und Inspiration zu tanken. «Der Pilatus ist spektakulär. Wie er immer da steht und Ruhe ausstrahlt, wie er auf die Stadt wirkt», erklärt Vero ihre Liebe zum Hausberg. Was sie und Marco hoch oben auf dem «Drachenberg» beobachten und erleben, malen sie später an städtische Hauswände. Ihr Skizzenbuch ist – egal, ob hoch oben zu Berg oder unten am Wasser oder in der Stadt – ein ständiger Begleiter.

Urban Art als Sprachrohr der Stadt

«Streetart ist etwas, das ein Stadtbild verändert, und in gewisser Weise auch ein Sprachrohr», erklärt Marco Schmid. Quartiere können damit aufgewertet werden. Er und Vero haben beispielsweise an der Bernstrasse 62 in Luzern ein ganzes Haus bemalt. Ein Riesenbär ziert das Gebäude und zieht Blicke auf sich – ein beinahe unbemerktes Haus hat sich durch Vero und Marco in einen wahren Hingucker verwandelt. Spazieren die beiden durch ihre Stadt und begutachten ihre Wandbemalungen, macht sich eine gewisse Genugtuung breit. Noch stärker ist dann nur das Gefühl, am richtigen Ort sesshaft geworden zu sein.

Nirgendwo sonst gehören Stadt und Natur so nahe zusammen

american-express-selects-citytrip-luzern-1

Die Natur als Inspirationsquelle

Marco und Vero betrachten das Werk mit dem Pilatus darauf.

american-express-selects-citytrip-luzern-2

Stadtnahes Bergerlebnis

Aussicht auf den Vierwaldstättersee.

american-express-selects-citytrip-luzern-3

Der See als Gegenwelt

Schwimmen im Vierwaldstättersee mit Blick auf das Bergpanorama ist ein bleibendes Erlebnis.

Angebote

Jugendstil-Hotel PAXMONTANA

Gönnen Sie sich eine Auszeit im Kraftort Flüeli-Ranft! Das ehemalige Kurhaus Nünalphorn liegt idyllisch auf einer Hügelkuppe im Mittelpunkt der Schweiz. Mit seiner familiären Atmosphäre lädt es im warmen Sommer sowie im zauberhaften Winter zu einem Besuch ein.

Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern

5-Sterne-Kultur mit persönlichem Charme und nostalgischem Luxus. Direkt am Vierwaldstätter-See gelegen, spektakuläre Aussicht auf See, Berge und Stadt. Das teilweise denkmalgeschützte Haus wird seit 1861 von Familie Hauser geführt. Seit April 2014 sind alle 101 eleganten Suiten und Zimmer neu renoviert. Zwei Spitzen-Restaurants mit schweizerischer und mediterraner Küche, ausserdem trendige Bar mit Live-Musik. Festivalhotel: «Wo Luzern das Leben feiert.»