Header

Search

Login

With the winds off Lake Geneva

Lake Geneva’s 582 square kilometers offer plenty of space for leisure activities on water. For Geneva’s city dwellers, "their" lake is both a place for sporting activities and a recreational area, lifeline, inspiration. Or catalyst, at least for Justine Mettraux – because this is where the professional sailor today learned to play with the winds.

american-express-selects-citytrip-genf-hauptbild-NEW

A lake for sailors

Justine Mettraux moved from her home in Versoix, about 10 km north of Geneva, to Brittany for her sporting career. But she thinks back fondly to her beginnings as a sailor: "The conditions on Lake Geneva are ideal for learning to sail," she says. To this day, the successful athlete is drawn back to the shores of her home, to the lake that sparked her passion for sailing again and again. "The lake has a reputation for being quite unpredictable, with the winds changing often." It’s these very conditions that make her so happy to return: "It’s always moving to be here."

A lake for athletes

As rough as the winds can be on Lake Geneva, the water is calm in the morning. "This is also where I often go stand-up paddleboarding." In the morning, she says, the lake is the perfect place for this because it’s virtually waveless so you can see right down to the bottom. In addition to stand-up paddleboards, kayaks or rowing boats, you will also come across numerous windsurfers on the largest inland lake in Central Europe, who play with the Lake Geneva’s winds, flying over the water with them. 

A lake for everyone

Just how closely the lake is linked to the city is shown by its landmark: the Jet d’eau, which watches over the city with its fountain in the lake basin. For many Geneva residents, the commute to work even takes them across the water. The "Mouettes" (English: seagulls), the small yellow boat taxis, take you from one shore to the other with four lines that run all year. This fast and efficient means of transport, along with the famous water fountain, are the people of Geneva’s pride and joy. These small ferries are also very popular with tourists. Departure: every 10 minutes.

The French refer to the lake as Lac Léman

american-express-selects-citytrip-genf-hautbild

Travelling by wind power on Lake Geneva

On the water with professional sailor Justine Mettraux.

american-express-selects-citytrip-genf-2

A lake for everyone

The lake is as much a part of Geneva as the Jet d’eau.

american-express-selects-citytrip-genf-3

Lake Geneva, a lake for sailors

The Société Nautique de Genève has been organising one of the most important inland lake regattas in Europe, the Bol d’Or, here since 1939.

Offers

Mandarin Oriental, Geneva

This urban hotel with its art deco elements is located in the heart of Geneva, alongside the Rhône River, and has 181 spacious rooms and suites. Member of the Mandarin Oriental Group since 2000. Two restaurants and a bar propose various Cuisines : the fine dining Indian restaurant Rasoi by Vineet, the authentic cebicheria Yakumanka by Gastón Acurio and the MO Bar, ideal for a classic gourmet lunch. Since mid-2019, a new signature suite, the Royal Penthouse, occupies the 7th and top floor of the hotel.

Header

Suche

Login

Mit den Winden vom Genfersee

Die 582 Quadratkilometer grosse Fläche des Genfersees bietet viel Raum für Freizeitaktivitäten auf dem Wasser. Für die Genfer Städter und Städterinnen ist «ihr» See sowohl ein Ort für sportliche Aktivitäten als auch Erholungsgebiet, Lebensader, Inspiration. Oder Wegbereiter, zumindest für Justine Mettraux – denn hier hat sie das Spiel mit den Winden gelernt, heute ist sie Profiseglerin.

american-express-selects-citytrip-genf-hauptbild-NEW

Ein See für Segler

Für ihre Sportkarriere ist Justine Mettraux von ihrer Heimat Versoix – rund 10 km nördlich von Genf – in die Bretagne gezogen. An ihre Anfänge als Seglerin denkt sie aber sehr gerne zurück: «Die Bedingungen auf dem Genfersee sind ideal, um Segeln zu lernen», erzählt sie. Bis heute zieht es die erfolgreiche Sportlerin immer wieder zurück; an die Ufer ihrer Heimat, auf den See, der ihre Leidenschaft für den Segelsport geweckt hat. «Der See hat den Ruf, ziemlich wechselhaft zu sein, die Winde verändern sich oft.» Ebendiese Bedingungen sind es, weshalb sie so gerne zurückkehrt: «Es berührt mich immer wieder, hier zu sein.»

Ein See für Sportler

So rau die Winde auf dem Genfersee sein können, so ruhig ist das Wasser am Morgen. «Hier gehe ich auch oft auf das Stand-up-Paddleboard.» Am Morgen sei der See der perfekte Ort dafür – denn dann ist er so glatt, dass man bis auf den Grund hinab sieht. Neben Stand-up-Paddleboards, Kajaks oder Ruderbooten begegnet man auf dem grössten Binnensee Mitteleuropas auch zahlreichen Windsurfern, die mit den Winden des Genfersee spielen, mit ihnen über das Wasser fliegen. 

Ein See für alle

Wie sehr der See mit der Stadt verbandelt ist, zeigt ihr Wahrzeichen: der Jet d’eau, der im Seebecken mit seiner Fontäne über die Stadt wacht. Für viele Genferinnen und Genfer führt der Arbeitsweg sogar übers Wasser. Mit den «Mouettes» (zu Deutsch: Möwen), den kleinen gelben Bootstaxis, gelangt man mit vier Linien das ganze Jahr von einem Ufer zum anderen. Dieses schnelle und effiziente Verkehrsmittel ist neben der berühmten Wasserfontäne der ganze Stolz der Genfer und Genferinnen. Auch bei Touristen sind diese kleinen Fähren äusserst beliebt. Abfahrt: alle 10 Minuten.

Genf ist die Stadt am Lac Léman

american-express-selects-citytrip-genf-hautbild

Mit den Winden vom Genfersee

Unterwegs mit der Profi-Seglerin Justine Mettraux.

american-express-selects-citytrip-genf-2

Ein See für alle

Der See gehört zu Genf wie der Jet d`eau ins Seebecken.

american-express-selects-citytrip-genf-3

Der Genfersee, ein See für Segler

Seit 1939 organisiert die Société Nautique de Genève hier die Bol d`Or – eine der wichtigsten Binnenseeregatten Europas.

Angebote