Header

Search

Login

The "GmüesEsel" (vegetable mule) from Bern

Bern is surrounded by nature, the "Green Belt". The "GmüesEsel" brings 200 kilograms of vegetables and fruit into the city every week on cycle route 888, which connects the communities around Bern over 59 kilometers and is part of the city’s local recreation area.

american-express-selects-citytrip-bern-hauptbild

Nature chauffeured into the city

The "GmüesEsel" is actually called Thomas Wieland. He lives and works on the "Biohof Gumme" organic farm in Thörishaus, just 15 kilometers outside the Swiss capital. He and other nature enthusiasts grow fruit and vegetables in an extremely natural and sustainable way on 8 hectares of land. Every week, Wieland rides his ebike briskly and greenly into the city to sell his food at the market in Bern or to deliver it to his customers. It is not only how the "GmüesEsel" – as Wieland calls himself, by the way – gets around that is sustainable, but also what he transports on his trailer.

Driven by muscle power and passion

From seed to finished product, Wieland deliberately keeps the nature of its production small scale. Everything is processed using the simplest possible tools, solar-powered machines and, above all, with their own muscle power. The former engineer also created the "productive fitness center" in the well-known Länggasse district, where workout fans can ride two bikes, a cross-trainer or a rowing machine to power Wieland’s machines: a mill for the production of polenta and durum wheat semolina or an oil press for the production of various cooking oils. Admission is free, and you can take away about a quarter of the amount produced in your own containers.

Bern’s Green Belt

The "GmüesEsel" sells his produce, among other things, at the weekly market in the old town, which is incidentally a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Here you can feel what Bern is all about: close to nature, sustainable, charming. The slower pace of life is in the air everywhere: "There is a pleasant atmosphere in Bern. The city is never hectic," says Wieland. People treat each other with respect, take time for each other and show consideration for nature. Few visitors are aware of the closeness to nature and the sustainable lifestyle that many Bernese locals lead. Cycle route 888, the "GmüesEsel’s" commute to work, is also rarely on the lips of the typical Swiss person. Yet it would definitely be worth a trip on foot or by bike with the leisurely route leading over gentle hills and along the Aare river. It offers cool shade on wooded sections and spectacular views of the Bernese Oberland’s summits and Lake Wohlensee.

With the “vegetable mule” on the Bern Green Belt – Cycle Route 888

american-express-selects-citytrip-bern-1

None of it is packaged

From the organic farm to the market or to the packaging-free shop.

american-express-selects-citytrip-bern-2

The old town shop buys Wieland's goods

Thomas Wieland delivers his produce to Palette, a shop selling unpackaged goods.

american-express-selects-citytrip-bern-3

Back to a simpler life

From the organic farm via the “Bern Green Belt” into the city and back again.

Offers

Congress Hotel Seepark

An oasis for connoisseurs directly by Lake Thun with a view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau: the 4-star superior Hotel Seepark in Thun. Relax in the stylish rooms and enjoy an excellent and varied range of restaurants.

Carlton - Europe Vintage Erwachsenenhotel

Historical hotel from the pioneering days of tourism. Centrally located, just 200 meters from the station and five minutes on foot to the town center, this establishment has constantly been updated and is run today by a young team. A wide range of catering in the hotel. Cost-free WLAN & wellness with sauna, steam bath and Turkish bath.

Header

Suche

Login

Der «GmüesEsel» von Bern

Bern ist eingefasst von Natur, dem «Grünen Band». Auf der Radwanderroute 888 – diese verbindet auf 59 Kilometern die Gemeinden rund um Bern und gehört zum Naherholungsgebiet der Bundesstadt – bringt der «GmüesEsel» jede Woche 200 Kilogramm Gemüse und Obst in die Stadt.

american-express-selects-citytrip-bern-hauptbild

Die Natur in die Stadt chauffiert

Der «GmüesEsel» heisst eigentlich Thomas Wieland. Er wohnt und arbeitet auf dem «Biohof Gumme» in Thörishaus, knapp 15 Kilometer ausserhalb der Schweizer Hauptstadt. Auf 8 Hektaren Land bauen er und weitere Naturbegeisterte Obst und Gemüse an, und das äusserst naturnah und nachhaltig. Jede Woche fährt Wieland zügig und umweltschonend mit seinem E-Bike in die Stadt, um seine Nahrungsmittel auf dem Markt in Bern zu verkaufen oder an seine Abnehmer zu liefern. Nachhaltig ist nicht nur, wie sich der «GmüesEsel» – so nennt sich Wieland übrigens selbst – fortbewegt, sondern auch, was er auf seinem Anhänger mittransportiert.

Angetrieben von Muskelkraft und Leidenschaft

Vom Samen bis zum fertigen Produkt hält Wieland die Art seiner Produktion bewusst im kleinen Rahmen. Alles wird mit möglichst einfachen Hilfsmitteln, solarbetriebenen Maschinen und insbesondere mit eigener Muskelkraft verarbeitet. Der ehemalige Ingenieur hat auch den «produktiven Fitnessraum» ins Leben gerufen. Im bekannten Quartier Länggasse können Schweissliebende auf zwei Velos, einem Crosstrainer oder einem Rudergerät Wielands Maschinen antreiben: eine Mühle zur Produktion von Polenta und Hartweizengriess oder eine Ölpresse zur Produktion verschiedener Speiseöle. Der Eintritt ist frei, zudem kann ungefähr ein Viertel der produzierten Menge in eigens mitgebrachten Gefässen mitgenommen werden.

Grünes Band Bern

Auf dem Wochenmarkt in der Altstadt (die übrigens zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe zählt) verkauft der «GmüesEsel» unter anderem seine Ware. Hier spürt man, was Bern alles ist: naturnah, nachhaltig, charmant. Das entschleunigte Lebensgefühl liegt überall in der Luft. «In Bern herrscht eine angenehme Atmosphäre. Die Stadt ist nie hektisch», so Wieland. Man pflegt einen respektvollen Umgang, nimmt sich Zeit füreinander und nimmt Rücksicht auf die Natur. Wenigen Besucherinnen und Besuchern sind die Nähe zur Natur und der nachhaltige Lebensstil, den viele Bernerinnen und Berner pflegen, bekannt. So ist auch die Radwanderroute 888 – der Arbeitsweg des «GmüesEsels» – seltener in Herrn und Frau Schweizers Munde. Dabei wäre sie unbedingt einen Ausflug zu Fuss oder auf dem Bike wert: Die gemütliche Route führt über sanfte Hügel und entlang der Aare. Sie bietet Abkühlung auf bewaldeten Abschnitten und eine spektakuläre Aussicht auf die Gipfel des Berner Oberlands und den Wohlensee.

Mit dem Gemüse-Esel auf der Radwanderroute 888 – Grünes Band Bern

american-express-selects-citytrip-bern-1

Alles unverpackt

Vom Biohof auf den Markt oder in den Unverpackt-Laden.

american-express-selects-citytrip-bern-2

Das Altstadt-Lädeli ist Abnehmer von Wielands Ware

Thomas Wieland liefert seine Ware in den Unverpackt-Laden (Palette).

american-express-selects-citytrip-bern-3

Zurück zum einfachen Leben

Vom Biohof über das «Grüne Band Bern» in die Stadt und wieder zurück.

Angebote

Congress Hotel Seepark

Direkt am Thunersee mit Blick auf Eiger, Mönch und Jungfrau liegt eine Oase für Geniesser – das 4-Sterne Superior Hotel Seepark in Thun. Entspannen Sie in stylischen Zimmern und geniessen Sie das ausgezeichnete und vielfältige Gastronomieangebot.